• Mon. Jan 24th, 2022

BREAKING: Senate confirms former Chiefs of Staff as non-ambassadors

BREAKING: Senate confirms former Chiefs of Staff as non-ambassadors

Senate confirms former Chiefs of Staff as non-ambassadors…

The Nigerian Senate has confirmed the appointment of the former Chief of Staffs as non-ambassadors designate.

The former Service Chiefs that their appointment confirmed as non-ambassadors are: Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete E. Ibas (Rtd), Cross River; General Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd), Ekiti; Lt. General Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Borno; and Air Marshal Sadique Baba Abubakar (Rtd), Bauchi.

Others confirmed was Air Vice Marshal Muhammad S. Usman (Rtd), Kano.

Meanwhile, Adamu Muhammad Bulkachuwa(Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs), in his presentation said their appointments were made in line with section 171(40) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

Read Also: Nnamdi Kanu Is Ready To Face Trial In Hague For Defending BIAFRA, Read Details

He said;

“Their experiences as Service Chiefs and in the military where they rose to the highest ranks in their careers have made them eminently qualified; and that the nominees were very knowledgeable and articulate in their response to questions directed at them by the Committee.”

Bulkachuwa said,

“The Committee received petitions against their nominations as Non-Career Ambassadors of the Federal Republic of Nigeria but the petitions were dismissed.”

Details later…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *